Daily Archives: January 16, 2011

Sunday Menu

Standard

Tonight, Jeff and I are making:

Chard and White Bean StewMediterranean Eggplant and Barley Salad, and Rice and Chicken Pilaf with Toasted Almonds and Dried Currants.

I also might make Smashed Chickpea Salad, a slight departure from the hummus kick I am on.

I have been so stressed out lately–eating out too much and eating all of the wrong foods.  I cook each weekend, so that we can have healthy food during the week, but when the week’s stress knocks the wind out of me, I call Papa John’s.  Or Kowloon’s.  Or go to sushi.  Or Quiznos. Or Wendy’s. (What an embarrassingly long list!) But this habit, as comforting as it is in the moment, is expensive–and is rather conducive to weight gain.  Fatty-ness. Eating may make a person feel good momentarily, but tight jeans the next day (and not tight in the sexy way) make me regret the takeout from the night before.

I chose these recipes for their Mediterranean flavors–light, simple, wholesome.  All of them will reheat nicely when we take them to work for lunch.  I really look forward to the rice and chicken pilaf–the combination of cinnamon, garlic, dried fruit, and chicken sounds amazing.  When I went grocery shopping for the ingredients, the Market of Choice as out of dried currants, so I bought dried cherries instead.

If I find the energy and inspiration, I’ll take some pictures of tonight’s cooking marathon.

 

Hummus Obsession

Standard

Living in Eugene, Oregon has turned me into a hummus fiend.   So, as I sit on my couch, in my pajamas, trying to motivate myself to shower and start my day, I google hummus recipes.  I tell myself that I’m doing you all a public service–finding outrageous hummus recipes so you don’t have to waste your valuable time.  Lazy?  Nah.  A couch potato?  No way!  I’m just helping you guys expand your hummus horizons.

You’re welcome.

Beet Hummus

Chipotle Hummus

Slow Roasted Tomato Hummus

Parsley Hummus

Green Olive Hummus

Moroccan Carrot Hummus

Lemon Ginger Hummus

Creamy Peanut butter Hummus

Cinnamon Peanut butter Hummus

Sweet Potato Hummus

Cucumber Dill Hummus

Kale and Sundried Tomato Hummus

Curried Pineapple Hummus

Cilantro Jalapeño Hummus

P.S.  The impetus for this hummus dump (did I actually just type that phrase?) was Jeff asking me if I’d ever come across a recipe for hummus made with bacon grease.  I haven’t, but wow.  Just, wow.