Weekend Cooking

Standard

The husband and I just returned home from Winco.  Produce prices are really starting to rise.  80%-100% of crops in Mexico have been lost to freezing temperatures.  Peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers, eggplant have been affected the most–prices in some places have already tripled.  Read more here.

Anyway, they say Mexico hasn’t seen such cold temperatures since 1957.

Moving on…

I have been thinking about making pulled pork all week.  I hate to use a bottled sauce–and I really couldn’t decide on which flavors I’d include in a recipe of my own.

I’ve semi-settled on this recipe for honey-tamarind sauce. For those of you unfamiliar with tamarind, it’s a common ingredient in Mexican and Indian recipes.  Also–Thai.  And also in African cuisine.  It’s also found in Worcestershire sauce. I bought tamarind paste a while back when I made pad thai and I’ve been thinking of ways to finish off the jar.  I think this recipe will be perfect.  The only changes to the recipe I plan on making are adding mango juice.

Below is a picture of tamarind.

I have also been planning on making chicken tortilla soup.  But since realizing that the only meat I can buy at Winco  comes in HUGE amounts, I’ve decided to make a vegetarian tortilla soup.  I just couldn’t bring myself to buy several pounds of chicken.  One pound, maybe.  But 5? 6? 10? No. So, instead of chicken, I’ll either substitute lentils or beans.  I haven’t decided yet.  But here is the recipe that I’ll riff off of:  Tortilla soup.

Leave a comment