Broken Sink

Standard

I’m at a loss here, folks.  My garbage disposal is broken and my kitchen sink is backed up. This is a pretty dire situation for me.  This means:  If I want to cook, I need to wash vegetables and pots, pans, and dishes…in the bathtub?  So, the husband and I had to think of a way to feed our faces and keep from using that damn sink.

Off to Trader Joe’s we went.  I really don’t like T.J.’s.  There is not much there other than pre-packaged food.  I have more critiques, but I’ll leave it at that.  I’m not a huge consumer of pre-packaged food, but this weekend, I had no choice.  Most of the stuff we bought can be cooked in the oven with minimal prep and clean up.  Here is what we bought:

  1. Handcrafted Black Been and Cheese Taquitos
  2. Chicken Gyoza
  3. Asian Vegetables with Bejing Style Soy Sauce
  4. Mandarin Orange Chicken
  5. Handcrafted Chicken and Cheese Tamales
  6. Handcrafted Cheese and Green Chile Tamales
  7. Roasted Eggplant Hummus

This should last us until our apartment management decides to fix our sink.

I’m super skeptical of T.J.’s, but hopeful at the same time.  The hummus was the best store-bought hummus I’ve ever purchased.

3 responses »

  1. Hey Jenn,
    I hate garbage disposals! They are more trouble than they are worth, breaking frequently in my case, and causing havoc when they do. I removed the one at my house in Eugene for this reason, but have one in my current apartment. It especially loves to break down at the beginning of the weekend, being that management is only available on weekdays.

    I have been a huge fan of TJ ‘s in the past. I still go on occasion, but they really are over-rated. I love their Mediterranean Hummus. Nick loves their individual seaweed packets and the Handcrafted Cheese and Green Chile Tamales, and Black Bean and Cheese Taquitos which you got. He also really likes their frozen pizzas. They have better prices on some things, such as Earth Balance, and tofutti cream cheese.
    They also have some okay wine, with decent prices.
    I often keep TJ’s frozen brown microwaveable rice, and some canned beans for a quick healthy meal. I like this with Yumm sauce. I know Yumm sauce is like eating death to you, but we love it in my house.
    I stopped buying produce there. The produce from TJ’s seems to have about a 24 hour expiration date.
    -Ellie

  2. Hi, Ellie!

    Come to find out, it actually wasn’t the garbage disposal. We just had a nasty clog in the bend of our pipe. But we had to suffer through not having a sink for 4 days. It sucked.

    I think shopping at Trader Joe’s last weekend awakened a monster in me. It has some of the coolest convenience food ever. We loved everything we bought. And I found out last week that an entry level, full time employee makes about 40K a year. No wonder they are so friendly! I wouldn’t know what to do with that much money.

Leave a Reply

