Sunday Cooking: Mexican Chicken Soup

Standard

Today, after drinking a few hot toddies to combat this cold, I made a Mexican chicken soup and a potato, spinach, and sausage casserole.  I’m usually not a casserole person, and I had intended to make biscuits and gravy, but I’m still pretty sick and a warm, cheesy casserole sounds really appetizing right now.

This soup is pretty similar to a soup recipe I posted a few months ago.  I don’t think the other soup had the roasted chicken.  I think it was a vegan or vegetarian version of this recipe, and perhaps it had rice.  I tend to rotate the same recipes with minor changes. The nice thing about soup is that you can substitute so many ingredients.  I have some carrots, spinach, and a sweet potato that would be just lovely in this recipe as well.

Mexican Chicken Soup:

  • juice of 2 limes
  • Mexican oregano
  • cumin
  • salt and pepper
  • new mexico chili powder
  • three chicken breast halves (skin on and bone in)
  • garlic
  • 6 cups of chicken stock
  • half of a small can of enchilada sauce
  • 1 can roasted tomatoes, juices included
  • some frozen corn
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 stalks of celery, diced
  • 2 small zucchini, diced

Method:

Marinate the chicken in lime juice and spices.  Roast in oven until done.  Shred.  Set aside. Saute onions, garlic, celery, zucchini, and bell pepper until soft.  Add chicken, tomatoes, enchilada sauce, stock.  Corn. Season to taste.  Simmer until done.

5 responses »

  1. This looks delicious! I will definitely be making this, but may have to wait until fall as we’re already into the high 90s here in North Texas. Now I have to go through all of your other recipes! Yay!

Leave a Reply

