Chicken Piccata and Struggling to Reemerge

Standard

I have been thinking about blogging for months. It’s hard to start again, though. When I began, things were different. My life was different. Three chapters of my life (at least) have come and gone since I first started this blog in October 2010. This blog is firmly rooted in that life, in that chapter. Now, I’m wondering if I don’t need to start fresh, but I’m not quite sure how. So, for now, I will keep this blog and hope that it can evolve with me.  

So, long story short: Bear with me as I gain my stride again (hopefully) with this blog. I loved sharing my recipes with you and interacting with you all.  

What you’ve missed in the past…um…several months:

Food obsessions as of late:

  • Making my own salad dressing out of kalamata olives, balsamic vinegar, grainy mustard, and olive oil.
  • Making tomato sauce out of cherry tomatoes
  • (fistfuls of) Sunflower seeds on salad
  • Cooking for my boyfriend and being cooked for by my boyfriend

I’ve been eating less fast food and have been making meals a big production around here. Cooking has become an earnest ritual that I need to do in order to unwind after work. With every meal, I kick myself and think “God. This would have been an awesome blog post!”  

Last night, I made something similar to Pork Chops alla Pizzaiola.  The main difference between my recipe and Giada’s is that I made a fresh tomato sauce out of yellow cherry tomatoes, capers, yellow bell peppers, garlic, and diced onion.  I also didn’t simmer the chops in the sauce. Instead, I served them alongside polenta and topped the pork and polenta with the sauce.

Along the same vein, I’m going to make Chicken Piccata tonight.  I will also make roasted tomatoes filled with Ricotta cheese. 

With just a cursory reading of Giada’s recipe, I can see that I will be making some changes. I think I’m going to change the ratios of stock and lemon juice so that I can add some white wine. Different recipes include wine, others omit, and others still add cream. I think I will strike a balance with 1/4 cup of lemon juice, 1/2 cup stock, and 1/4 cup of wine. I may increase the liquid as it seems that these recipes never make enough sauce. I haven’t decided if I will make pasta to go with this (I imagine I will) and I’ll need enough sauce for that.  

I really don’t plan on following the recipe for the tomatoes. Just the idea of ricotta and tomatoes roasted in the oven is enough for me. I like to improvise after I have a basic idea of what I want to do. If you plan to do the recipe, let me know how it turns out. 

I will begin cooking momentarily and uploading pictures and processes in another post. Stay tuned and I’m happy to share with you all again!

 

 

Leave a Reply

