Out of Sorts Carnitas Enchiladas

Standard

This weekend has been a roller coaster. Friday was great. I worked a half day and then Henry and I took the kids to my best friend’s house to play for a bit. We hadn’t had a chance up to that point to introduce her kiddos to ours and it was nice to finally see them together. The toddler (or turdler, as I have been calling him lately) was fussy, but we didn’t know he was sick. Yesterday, with the puke and tears–me trying to get homework done, learning how to co-parent a sick kid within a still new family unit–let’s just say it was a rough day.

Today, the turdler is better, but I’m feeling out of sorts. I’m starting to fret about work, about school, and about our upcoming, week-long trip to Washington. Laundry needs to be done. I need a shower. The best I can seem to do today is drink coffee, feel the breeze and sun through the screen door, and try to not be tearful.

The carnitas from yesterday are sitting in the fridge, waiting to be used. I am going to throw them into some corn tortillas and make enchiladas. I also made some tomato brown rice to go along with them.

Method is simple enough. Warmed tortillas, filled with carnitas and colby jack (what we had in the fridge), covered in El Pato enchilada sauce (my favorite) and bit more cheese on top. I will bake it at 375 for 45 minutes to an hour when the kids wake up from their naps.

The best part of these enchiladas will be how juicy they are. The beer and orange juice melded with bone marrow and other meat goodness to make a thick gelatin while the roast was cooking yesterday. That gelatin in the enchiladas will melt in the oven and impart it’s richness and juiciness, elevating these enchiladas to something pretty special.

Image

Leave a Reply

