Spicy Beef for Sandwiches

Standard

We need to budget better. This summer has been awesome and we have had extra money to play with, which has funded many an adventure across the PNW with the kids. But school is starting soon, summer is winding down, and we need to start budgeting for a wedding and buying a house. And maybe a baby. You know? Grown up stuff. So, with that being said, Henry suggested I find an online meal planner to help with meals and grocery lists. I settled with SayMmm.  

It’s been fun so far to track recipes and plan weeks ahead what I’m going to make for us. Eating out is my down fall, and I am hopeful that I will be able to cook more, which I love to do anyway, and keep on track. Here is one of the first recipes from my meal planning.  Throw it all together in a crock pot; it’s done when it’s falling apart. I buttered rolls and added muenster cheese and horseradish to our sandwiches at the very end.

Ingredients:

  • 2 pound roast
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 pasilla pepper, sliced
  • 1 packet of onion soup mix
  • several cups of water
  • basil
  • pepper
  • 5 pepperoncinis and some of their juice
  • two handfuls of cherry tomatoes

P.S. I was a little bit afraid to use the crock pot again after leaving it on for a long weekend while we were in Sisters. Here’s the carnage:

crockpot

Leave a Reply

