Sick Day Turned into Sriracha-versary

Standard

I woke up this morning and promptly threw up. I lined up a sub, quickly typed of a plan for him/her, and went back to sleep with Henry. It took awhile to fall back asleep because my stomach was hurting so badly. I was startled awake at 10 by the maintenance people mowing outside my window. But I felt a little better.

(By the way, Henry thinks I am pregnant. I have no idea why I threw up this morning.) Around noon, we went to Lone Pine Farms and bought some Fresno chiles.

One of our first dates, over a year ago, was making sriracha at Henry’s house. We thought today would be a great day to create a tradition and make some rooster sauce.

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds bright red fresno chilis
  • 4 tsp kosher salt
  • 4 cups white vinegar
  • 4 T + 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 16 cloves of garlic

Method:

Chop peppers roughly and smash garlic. Add all ingredients into a large pot and boil vigorously for five minutes.

Blend the hell out of the pepper mixture.

At this point, you can strain it, bottle it, fridge it, or can it. We opted to not strain it and can it. Three jars is our yield. It’s beautiful stuff.

ImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

