Sick and Tired (but hopeful)

Standard

Because I was sick, I had a four day weekend. But a “four day weekend” in name only. There is no resting and recuperating with small children around.

Sleeping in did not happen. Showering did not happen. Cleaning and working also fell by the wayside. But, as with every time I get sick, this was a way for my body to force me to chill out and stop doing. I am behind on everything, but feeling better today. It’s rainy and cold. I have the backdoor open and the front window open, and as I sit typing this, I can feel the damp, chilled breeze sweep through the apartment.

We went grocery shopping for the week today, and planned on doing laundry, but our neighbors aren’t using the community machines appropriately, so it’ll have to wait another day.

So with some pent up energy, latent frustration, and a lingering head cold, I decided to make some breakfast cookies. We both need something to throw down our maws first thing before we head to work, so we’ll see if this recipe starts to make a regular rotation.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups quick oats
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup sunflower seed butter
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 banana, smashed
  • 1/4 cup apple sauce, no sugar added
  • 1 cup dried cherries
  • 1/2 cup walnuts

Mix well. Bake at 325 until edges are a little golden.

Image

Leave a Reply

