Fried Chicken Potpie with Heirloom Squash and a Parmesan Buttermilk Biscuit Topping

Standard

It was a rough sort of week. It was a week of goals being met, tears being cried, frustrated, whispered arguments, and exhaustion. For every high we had, the lows arrived on schedule.

Here we are, Saturday afternoon and we have survived. Henry has started college, got his driver’s license, and I got nominated for the Oregon Small Schools Teacher of the Year. It was a gorgeous afternoon. We went to the park this morning and have really enjoyed our day together. Now Henry is off to work, and the kids and I are settling into our evening.

Since Henry started school, he reduced his hours at work and is only working weekend nights. I rushed to make a good dinner for us before he left, and I really threw it together. I made a huge mess in the kitchen and spilled flour all over the flour.

But dinner turned out and it’s worthy of a blog post, so here it is. It’s really approximate, so use your own judgment if you choose make it.

Ingredients:

  • chicken tenders, cut into chunks
  • 1 squash, roasted in the oven, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • some celery, diced
  • flour
  • milk and chicken stock
  •  butter and/or oil
  • baking mix
  • buttermilk
  • parmesan cheese
  • salt and pepper, thyme, and sage

Method:

I floured the chicken chunks with flour seasoned with sage, salt, and pepper. I fried the pieces in batches, and then put them into the bottom of a casserole dish. In the meantime, I had the squash roasting and when it finished, I cut it out of its skin and diced it. I layered the squash over the chicken.

When the chicken was all done, I sauteed the onion, garlic, and celery in the same pan the chicken fried in. When the veggies were a little soft, I added a tablespoon of butter, some flour, and made a roux. Then I added stock and milk until I got the gravy to the right consistency.

I seasoned to taste and poured the gravy over the chicken and squash. Then I measured out the baking mix, added buttermilk and parm, then dropped large spoonfuls of the biscuit batter over the chicken and gravy.

Then I baked it in the oven at about 400 degrees for 30 minutes. It was was fast for a casserole dish, and super satisfying on a crisp, fall day.

ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

