Artichoke and Kale Chicken and Rosemary Sweet Potatoes

Standard

This is adapted from a recipe I found about a month ago, but never got around to making. The original recipe called for thawed and squeezed, frozen spinach.  I thought using kale instead would give some texture to the final dish, as it doesn’t mush up like spinach does. I also added fresh herbs to my recipe and subbed in Japanese mayo, just because I had it around.

As a side dish, I peeled an enormous sweet potato and cut it into rounds. I laid the rounds on a sheet pan, drizzled them in garlic olive oil, and gave them a pinch of minced rosemary, brown sugar, salt, and pepper. I baked them in the oven with the chicken dish and they finished at the same time. Perfect.

Disclaimer. I did not measure my ingredients. Use your best judgement. Taste. Make enough sauce to coat the chicken and kale. Use equal parts mayo and yogurt. Make it your own!

Ingredients:

  • Four boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • Kale–half of a bunch, sliced
  • Artichoke hearts–marinated in oil, rinsed and diced
  • Parmesan cheese–grated
  • mayonnaise–I used Kewpie mayo
  • Greek yogurt
  • fresh sage, thyme, rosemary–finely minced
  • salt and pepper
  • garlic–minced
  • onion–diced
  • half of a red bell pepper–diced

Method:

Salt and pepper chicken. Brown it on both sides. Don’t worry about cooking it through. I did the entire dish in a cast iron frying pan, so it is a one pan dish–stove to oven.

Mix artichoke, cheese, mayo, yogurt, herbs, and salt and pepper in a bowl. Set aside.

After chicken is done, set aside on a plate. In the same pan, saute onions, peppers, garlic–then add kale and cook down.

dish2

Turn off the heat, add the cheese mixture.

SAM_0796

Nestle chicken in the sauce.  Bake until chicken is done and sauce is melty and gooey.

dish1

5 responses »

    • I think that would be fine…I was actually thinking about that. I would actually maybe do 1/2 cup greek yogurt, 1/4 cup cream cheese, and 1/4 cup mayo. I was hesitant about the mayo, too, but when it’s cooked, it adds a great savoriness to the dish. Thank you for the comment! Tell me how it goes

    • Greek yogurt is really something special. I love it. I think I am going to use the rest of these ingredients tonight, minus the chicken to make a dip in my crockpot.

Leave a comment