What to do with leftover corned beef…

Standard

So, folks, yesterday, I lost my corned beef v-card. And it was good–great, even. J.Kenji Lopez-Alt, in his “Food Lab” column on Serious Eats, as he tackled the science and history of the stuff, described corned beef this way:

really love corned beef. Its salty, spicy, beefy flavor always reminds me of eating a hot dog in the shape of a steak, and who wouldn’t love that? Yum.

A hot dog in the shape of a steak? Does that sound appetizing to anyone? I’d say it was more like roast beef and ham’s love child, which makes sense because the nitrite preservatives are found in both ham and corned beef.

Anyway, so I bet many of you are searching the internet this morning, looking for ways to use up your corned beef–other than Rueben sandwiches. Here is a list of the best I could find this morning.

Reuben Soup

Corned Beef Grilled Cheese Sandwich with Guinness Caramelized Onions

Kimchi Reuben Sandwich

Reuben Dip

Reuben Quesadillas

Corned Beef, Cabbage, and Kimchi Burritos

Corned Beef and Cabbage Turnovers

Irish Tacos 

Corned Beef Hash

Corned Beef and Cabbage Egg Rolls

2 responses »

Leave a comment